What does this post mean is age protected on TikTok?

ONLINE user protection has become an increasingly important factor for major social media platforms looking to maintain user safety.

TikTok installed a new “age control” feature that has some users wondering how it all works.

TikTok is working towards a child-safe experience for those under the age of 18

2

TikTok is working towards a child-safe experience for those under the age of 18Photo credit: Getty Images – Getty

What does this post mean is age protected on TikTok?

A portion of TikTok users have noticed that certain videos on their feed are blocked from being viewed.

The splash screen that appeared announced that the post is “age restricted” and “unavailable” for the viewer.

The new feature installed by the video platform was tested earlier this year and categorizes content based on maturity.

The ratings “follow the same pattern as the industry-standard PG, PG-13, R, and NC-17 rating systems for video games and movies,” according to Screen Rant.

How to undo a repost on TikTok
What does DTN mean on TikTok?

TikTok aims to protect young users, especially those in the 13-17 age group, by categorizing videos as graphic or mature based on the user’s age.

Instagram has set up a similar system for its scrollers to ensure a child-safe experience for those under the age of 18.

What does TikTok use to categorize its content as mature?

Content categorization for the platform is evaluated based on the scope of sensitive topics covered in a video.

TikTok ranks videos as too scary, too intense, or too sexual for younger audiences.

These limitations are similar to blurry videos with sensitive content. The previous feature allowed users to choose from a prompt whether they really wanted to view the content, however age-restricted content doesn’t give users a choice.

The parental control feature applies not only to content in a user’s feed, but also to content in their DMs.

TikTok logo

2

TikTok logoPhoto credit: Getty Images – Getty

Can the protection function be switched off?

Unfortunately, since the feature is automatically enabled based on a user’s age, it cannot be disabled.

Users between the ages of 13 and 17 cannot disable the feature.

Security has been tightened at the scene of Salman Rushdie's stabbing
You have the eyes of an eagle when you can see straight lines in illusion

If an adult user experiences the protected content system unexpectedly, they must contact TikTok to change their age in the app.

To do this, the user must present a valid government-issued ID to the social media platform to confirm their date of birth.

https://www.the-sun.com/tech/5998042/what-post-age-protected-mean-tiktok/ What does this post mean is age protected on TikTok?

Chris Barrese

InternetCloning is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@internetcloning.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button