What does CERN stand for?

CERN has been in existence for more than 65 years and is responsible for some of the world’s most famous scientific experiments.

But what does the acronym stand for and when was the institution originally founded?

What does CERN stand for?

CERN is an acronym that stands for the European Council for Nuclear Research.

The acronym derives from the French translation of the institute – Conseil Européen pour la Recherche Nucléaire.

CERN operates the largest particle physics laboratory in the world


CERN operates the largest particle physics laboratory in the worldPhoto credit: AFP

CERN’s main function is to provide the particle accelerators and other infrastructure needed for high-energy physics.

Numerous top-class experiments have been set up at the institute through international cooperation, e.g. B. the creation of the World Wide Web.

CERN is also used to refer to the lab, which in 2019 had 2,660 employees and hosted about 12,400 users from institutions in more than 70 countries.

When was CERN founded?

According to the institute’s official website, CERN was founded in 1954 “with a mission to create a world-class foundational understanding.”

The organization is based in a suburb of Geneva, on the French-Swiss border.

What is a solar flare and why do they keep hitting Earth?
Solar storm

The lab was originally dedicated to the study of atomic nuclei, but was soon repurposed to focus on higher-energy physics.

According to the House of Switzerland, the location was chosen: “Because of its neutrality and its protection against the misuse of scientific research results for military purposes, the location should largely house CERN.

“This was especially important when the organization was founded in 1954 because the world was entering the Cold War.

“Switzerland offers other advantages, including its location in the heart of Europe, its tradition as a host country for international organizations and its stability.”

Their famous Large Hadron Collider (LHC), the largest and most powerful particle accelerator in the world, is located just 100 meters below the facility.

The LHC took a decade to build and cost around $4.75 billion.

Who are CERN members?

At the time of writing, CERN has 23 member states, including the UK, France, Germany, Spain and Italy.

Israel is the only non-European country to be granted full membership status after its admission in 1999.

A full list of Member States includes:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Serbia
  • Slovak Republic
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom What does CERN stand for?

Chris Barrese

InternetCloning is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button