PFA Players of the Year include Salah, De Bruyne and Ronaldo | Soccer

Tottenham Hotspur vs Burnley - Premier League

Harry Kane is on the PFA shortlist but Spurs teammate Son Heung-min is not (Picture: Getty)

The six nominees for the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year award have been announced, with three Liverpool FC players shortlisted.

The Red Strikers Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah have made it, as well as defender Virgil van Dijk, with the latter two aiming to win their second award of the kind.

However, they will face stiff competition from title winner Kevin De Bruyne, with the Manchester City attacking midfielder looking to complete a hat-trick of wins and become the first player to win the award three times.

The other two contenders are Tottenham striker Harry Kane and Manchester United striker Cristiano Ronaldo.

Kane started the season in poor form, scoring 17 goals for Antonio Conte’s side, but many will think his teammate Son Heung-min deserved one more nomination after the forward scored 23 goals to clinch the Golden Shoe to share with Salah.

Manchester City vs Liverpool - Premier League

Liverpool’s Mo Salah and Man City’s Kevin de Bruyne are favorites to win (Picture: Getty)

Ronaldo also had a great individual year on his return to English football, scoring 18 goals, but was unable to save United as the Red Devils ended the season sixth with the lowest scoring in Premier League history.

Still, his nomination gives him a chance to join De Bruyne in becoming the first player to win the PFA award three times, having previously triumphed in 2007 and 2008.

Those who will miss out include City’s Joao Cancelo, Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold, West Ham duo Declan Rice and Jarrod Bowen and Southampton’s James Ward-Prowse.

While Mane and Van Dijk have had impressive campaigns, Salah will certainly be Liverpool’s leading candidate after the Egyptian finished as joint top scorer and top creator with 13 assists and was voted Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year.

De Bruyne, meanwhile, inspired his side to their sixth title and their fourth in five years, scoring 15 goals and eight assists and lifting the Premier League Player of the Season award.

The winner of the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award will be announced on June 9th.

MORE : PFA Young Player of the Year nominees include Arsenal, Chelsea, Man City and Aston Villa stars

MORE : Why French government ministers keep telling untruths about Liverpool fans

For more stories like this, visit our sports page.

Follow Metro Sport for the latest news
Twitter and Instagram.

Liverpool FC PFA Players of the Year include Salah, De Bruyne and Ronaldo | Soccer

Nate Jones

InternetCloning is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button