‘Nomadland’ Named Best Picture by National Society of Film Critics

Chloé Zhao’s “Nomadland” led this yr’s National Society of Film Critics awards, successful the highest honors in 4 of the classes. The movie received greatest image and greatest cinematography, whereas Zhao was awarded greatest director and star Frances McDormand was named greatest actress.

The fifty fifth annual voting assembly passed off Saturday, with outcomes being shared to the group’s Twitter account as every class was voted upon. A weighted poll system required voters to pick their first, second and third decisions for every class, with every place incomes the movie a unique rating. Class winners are those that acquired probably the most cumulative factors.

Delroy Lindo earned the title of greatest actor for his function in Spike Lee’s “Da 5 Bloods.” Lindo’s portrayal of a army veteran acquired vital reward all year long.

Maria Bakalova, who shot to fame after her efficiency in “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm,” received the dignity of greatest supporting actress following this yr’s vote, whereas “Sound of Steel” star Paul Raci was dubbed greatest supporting actor.

And whereas “Ma Rainey’s Black Backside” did not high any of the appearing classes, it did discover itself near a win in one of the best actress, greatest actor and greatest supporting actor classes. Boseman, who was the runner-up for greatest actor as a consequence of his efficiency within the Viola Davis-led movie, additionally got here near successful greatest supporting actor for “Da 5 Bloods.” He got here third within the class.

The complete listing of winners and runners-up may be discovered on the National Society of Film Critics’ announcement thread, or learn under for individuals who took dwelling first place.

Greatest Image: “Nomadland”

Greatest Director: Chloé Zhao

Greatest Actor: Delroy Lindo, “Da 5 Bloods”

Greatest Actress: Frances McDormand, “Nomadland”

Greatest Supporting Actor: Paul Raci, “Sound of Steel”

Greatest Supporting Actress: Maria Bakalova, “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm”

Greatest Cinematography: Joshua James Richards, “Nomadland”

Greatest Screenplay: Eliza Hittman, “By no means Hardly ever Generally At all times”

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 + 13 =

Back to top button