Mayor Jones appoints members of the St. Louis Restoration Commission

ST. LOUIS – Nine members have been appointed to the City of St. Louis Reparations Commission by Mayor Tishaura O. Jones. They all live in the city of St. Louis and come from different backgrounds. Your first meeting will be within the next 45 days.

A statement from the mayor’s office said the group will “analyze the history of race-related harm in the city and uncover the modern manifestations of injustice.” Ultimately, the commission will make recommendations for methods of developing and implementing reparations for black St. Louisans and the descendants of enslaved peoples.”

In 2021, eleven US mayors pledged to pay slavery reparations to a small group of black residents in their cities. Their goal is to provide the federal government with an example of how a nationwide program could work.

Commission members:

  • Will Ross, associate dean for diversity at Washington University School of Medicine and professor of medicine in the Department of Nephrology
  • Delesha N. George, program manager at the Deaconess Foundation
  • Kayla Reed, co-founder and CEO of Action St. Louis
  • William Foster, townsman and external auditing generalist at Price Water House Coopers
  • Gwen Moore, historian and curator of Urban Landscape and Community Identity
  • Kevin Anthony, bridge pastor of the Pilgrim Congregational United Church of Christ
  • David Cunningham, Professor and Chair of Sociology at Washington University in St. Louis
  • Jada Brooks, communications student at Harris-Stowe University
  • Kimberly Hicks Franks, attorney, activist and board member of Dutchtown South Community Corporation

Slavery officially ended in the United States in 1865 with the passage of the 13th Amendment to the US Constitution. But its impact has lingered far beyond, contributing to the disparities in wealth and health between white and black populations. Mayor Jones appoints members of the St. Louis Restoration Commission

Sarah Y. Kim

InternetCloning is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button