Liverpool and Man Utd players nominated for 2022 Golden Boy Award | Soccer

Anthony Elanga Harvey Elliot

Man Utd’s Antony Elanga and Liverpool’s Harvey Elliot are nominees for the Golden Boy (Picture: Getty)

The 100-man shortlist for the 2022 Golden Boy Awards has been unveiled, with Liverpool and Manchester United youngsters among the nominees.

The award recognizes the best Under-21 players in the world, with the shortlist expected to be slowly reduced over the next few months before the winner is announced at the end of the year.

A total of 10 Premier League players have been called up, including United forwards Amad Diallo and Anthony Elanga, as well as Liverpool duo Harvey Elliot and Fabio Carvalho, who has just signed for the Reds from Fulham.

Dortmund's Jude Bellingham claps his hands after winning the German Bundesliga soccer match between Borussia Dortmund and Arminia Bielefeld on Sunday, March 13, 2022, in Dortmund, Germany. (AP Photo/Martin Meissner)

Dortmund’s Jude Bellingham is one of the favorites for the award (Picture: Getty)

The other names from England’s top flight are wolf pairing Fabio Silva and Ki-Jana Hoever, Leeds’ Joe Gelhardt, Manchester City’s Yan Couto, Tottenham’s Pape Matar Sarr and Brighton’s Kacper Kozlowski, although the latter three are yet to make senior appearances for their respective clubs.

Borussia Dortmund and England midfielder Jude Bellingham is one of the favorites for the award, PSV’s Elliott, Gelhardt and Noni Madueke are the only other English nominees, while defender Aaron Hickey from Bologna has been linked with a move to Arsenal will, the only nominee is for Scotland.

Bellingham will face stiff competition for the trophy including Real Madrid’s Eduardo Camavinga, Barcelona’s Gavi and Bayern Munich’s Jamal Musiala.

They hope to follow in the footsteps of Barcelona midfielder Pedri, who emerged victorious last year. Previous winners also include Lionel Messi, Cesc Fabregas, Sergio Aguero, Kylian Mbappe and Erling Haaland.

United have produced the most award winners since inception in 2003, thanks to strikers Wayne Rooney and Antony Martial and midfielder Anderson, while Raheem Sterling is Liverpool’s only recipient of the Golden Boy.

The winner will be determined through a mix of votes on organizer Tuttosport’s website and a range of European journalists and is due to be announced in November.

MORE : Darwin Nunez transfer to Liverpool is a gamble like Romelu Lukaku and Timo Werner’s move to Chelsea, says Robbie Fowler

MORE: Porto react to ‘concrete offer’ for Arsenal and Manchester United target Vitinha

For more stories like this, visit our sports page.

Follow Metro Sport for the latest news
Twitter and Instagram.

Liverpool FC Liverpool and Man Utd players nominated for 2022 Golden Boy Award | Soccer

Nate Jones

InternetCloning is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button