Gov. DeSantis appoints three to the small business development board

governor Ron DeSantis has filled three vacancies on a board that next year will celebrate 10 years of the agency operating as “the premier business support organization for small businesses in the state.”

The Office of DeSantis Announced the Appointment of Three Entrepreneurs and Directors – Barbara Bonarrigo, Jordan Johnson and Marielena Villamil – for the state advisory board of the Florida Small Business Development Center (SBDC) network.

Lawmakers established the advisory board in 2013 to better govern the services and operations of the SBDC network, which gives businesses online and under access to “robust databases, business research and knowledgeable experts.” more than 40 locations across the state.

The board consists of 19 members, including three each chosen by the governor, the speaker of the senate, the speaker of the house of representatives and the CEO of the SBDC network, who is also a member.

Other board members include senior officials from the Florida Chamber of Commerce, Enterprise Florida, the National Federation of Independent Businesses, the United Business Association and a commissioner of University of West Floridawhere the SBDC headquarters is located.

Bonarrigo of Ormond Beach is co-founder and CEO of CJ Manufacturingan aerospace company based in Daytona Beach that she co-owns with her husband, Christopher Bonarrigo.

In 2020 – the same year she made one unsuccessful run at Volusia County Council — The Volusia Manufacturing Association called them “Manufacturer of the Year.” She earned her bachelor’s degree in business administration in Germany.

Tampa-based Johnson is the founder and CEO of Naked Farmer Food Group, the parent company of a growing restaurant chain with four locations throughout Florida.

He earned a Bachelor of Economics from the University of Florida.

Villamil is the CEO of The Washington Economics Groupa Coral Gables-based consulting firm she co-founded with her husband in 1993, Tony Villamil.


A former English as a second language teacher at Miami Dade College, she is currently Chair of the South Florida Humanitarian Network for Cuba and past Chair of the Board of Directors of the American Red Cross of Greater Miami and the Keys.

She has a Masters degree from Middlebury College.

Other advisory board members include the CEO of FloridaMakes Kevin KarrDirector of Sports Facility Management Jason ClemensPresident and CEO of CareerSource Florida Michelle DennardExecutive Director of the Florida United Business Association Thomas Stal and Executive Director of the Oskaloosa Economic Development Council Nathan Sparks.

Post Views: 0 Gov. DeSantis appoints three to the small business development board

Callan Tansill

InternetCloning is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button