Do you need a concealed carry permit in Missouri?

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. — Missouri is a permit-free carry state, meaning anyone legally allowed to own and use a firearm can carry a concealed weapon. Then what’s the point of a concealed carry license in Missouri?

“I think it’s very important that people get trained,” said Roger Moore, partner and trainer at Peacekeepers Training. “Unfortunately, many people buy a gun, but then they don’t learn how to use that gun properly.”

Moore said he suggests formal weapons training even for people who have a lot of experience in their area.

“I’ve honestly met a lot of people who grew up with firearms — hunting and things like that — but carrying a firearm for personal protection is a different world.”

Missouri not only allows legal gun owners to conceal carrying without a permit, but also allows people to openly carry guns. There are no particular limitations or differences when it comes to concealed carry and overt carry.

“From a tactical perspective, I strongly discourage people who are going to carry a firearm from carrying it openly,” Moore said. “That’s just because you don’t want to tell the bad guy who to shoot first.”

Missouri also doesn’t impose many restrictions on the type of weapon you can conceal or carry openly. Moore pointed out that carrying long guns openly is not a good idea as it draws attention to the wielder.

“Guns are like parachutes,” Moore said. “If you ever need one and don’t have one, you’ll probably never need one again.”

Where does a Missouri CCW permit work?

When traveling across state lines with a gun, it’s a good idea to plan ahead. Not all states are as open to concealed guns as Missouri.

“I really encourage people to make sure if you’re traveling that you do a little research before going into that jurisdiction,” Moore said.

status conditions
MO permit not valid California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island and Washington
MO permit valid if you are over 21 years old Alaska, Nebraska, Pennsylvania and Virginia
MO permit valid with written agreement Mississippi, New Hampshire, Ohio, South Dakota and Texas
MO permit valid with no/few restrictions All other states
Information courtesy of Missouri Attorney General’s website

Where can someone wear in Missouri?

Some of the most notable places where you are not allowed to carry a gun are:

  • A law enforcement agency or station without the consent of the chief law enforcement officer.
  • No more than 25 feet from a polling station on Election Day.
  • Any adult or juvenile detention or correctional institution.
  • Any courthouse.
  • Any meeting place for local government or general assemblies.
  • Any building licensed for the sale of alcohol unless you have permission from the owner or manager. If it’s a restaurant, the business must derive at least 51% of its income from food for anyone to legally carry a gun inside.
  • airports.
  • Any school, college or university without the consent of the school authorities.
  • Childcare facilities without manager’s consent.
  • river boats without consent.
  • amusement parks.
  • churches.

One of the advantages of a concealed carry permit is that you can carry a weapon in a few places where permitless carry permits cannot. For example, someone with a concealed carry permit can carry into a church, but someone carrying without a permit cannot carry their gun inside. These special exceptions are addressed in the class required for individuals to obtain a CCW permit.

In general, no one is permitted to carry weapons within federal territory unless they are part of a security or military team.

If the private property owner has decided that the area is off-limits to concealed firearms, firearms are not allowed. The property owner must post a firearms prohibition sign in a conspicuous place. This is why people are not allowed to carry firearms in places like shopping malls. Elishsha Dicken, the man who used his concealed weapon to bring down the gunman at Indiana’s Greenwood Park Mall on July 17, 2022. shouldn’t have his gun in the building.

How to get a Concealed Carry Permit in Missouri

Persons wishing to obtain a permit to carry concealed weapons for the first time must make an appointment with the Greene County Justice Center. At this appointment, applicants will need:

  • A Missouri driver’s license.
  • Proof of proper training.
  • $100 for a concealed weapon carry application fee.

“The concealed carry program is basically a one-day security course that meets the legal requirements to obtain a CCW license from the state of Missouri,” Moore said. Depending on how many people enroll, Peacekeepers Training regularly hosts its CCW permit training classes at Missouri State University’s indoor facility.

Persons convicted of a felony or under the age of 18 are not permitted to obtain a concealed carry license or possess a firearm in Missouri unless they are in a special situation. Interestingly, felons in Missouri can legally own and hunt antique firearms. Criminal convictions do not deprive a person of the right to hunt – only to possess modern firearms.

The Greene County Sheriff’s Office and other permit-issuing organizations in Missouri are not permitted to release information about who has a concealed carry permit or how many permits they have issued, so it can be difficult to know how many permits are in the were exhibited area.

https://fox2now.com/news/missouri/do-you-need-a-concealed-carry-permit-in-missouri/ Do you need a concealed carry permit in Missouri?

Sarah Y. Kim

InternetCloning is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@internetcloning.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button