Delhi government approves 1,500 electric buses for public transport fleet

The Delhi government on Friday approved the addition of 1,500 low-floor electric buses to its public transport fleet, an official statement said. The Delhi Transport Corporation (DTC) has also decided to allocate 10 sites to different authorities for setting up electric vehicle (EV) charging stations and battery swapping stations under the Delhi EV Policy 2020, it said.

The city government also approved the operation of 75 interstate buses on 11 routes in five states and one union territory.

The DTC Board also decided to increase the stipend paid to women during training for employment as a contract driver from Rs 6,000 to Rs 12,000 per month with HMV licence.

The board has already dropped the requirement to hold an HMV driver’s license for at least three years for women seeking employment as bus drivers in its fleet, the statement said.

The 10 locations assigned to different service providers to set up EV charging and battery swapping stations are Ambedkar Nagar Depot, Jal Vihar Terminal, Dilshad Garden Terminal, Karawal Nagar Terminal, Shadipur Depot, Mayapuri Depot, Bindpur Terminal, East Vinod Nagar, Punjabi Bagh and Rohini Depot-I. Delhi Transco Limited (DTL) has identified four service providers through a tender process who will shortly sign an agreement with DTC to set up the EV charging/battery swapping stations at these locations. The DTC Board also decided to grant approval in principle for the procurement of 75 (38 non-AC and 37 AC) standard CNG groundbuses for interstate operations, it said.

These buses will operate on 11 routes in five states (Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Haryana, Punjab) and Chandigarh – between Delhi-Rishikesh, Delhi-Haridwar, Delhi-Dehradun, Delhi-Haldwani, Delhi-Agra, Delhi-Bareilly, Delhi-Lucknow, Delhi-Jaipur, Delhi-Chandigarh, Delhi-Panipat and Delhi-Patiala, the statement said. Delhi government approves 1,500 electric buses for public transport fleet

Ryan Sederquist

InternetCloning is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button