AFL 2023: Jack Riewoldt, Lance Franklin, Scott Pendlebury, all the key milestones this season

With each new season there are new records to be broken and milestones to be reached. Can the reigning Premiers continue their form from 2022 and break records in 2023? Check out all the upcoming key milestones this season in the AFL.

From a 150th anniversary to a new all-time disposal record, 2023 will see a whole host of milestones in the AFL.

Sydney superstar Lance Franklin is poised to become just the 22nd player to reach 350 VFL/AFL games with his milestone match set for a Round 9 clash against Fremantle at the SCG.

North Melbourne veteran Todd Goldstein is poised to play his 300th game against the Brisbane Lions during the Gather Round in Round 5, while Collingwood’s Steele Sidebottom and Richmond’s Trent Cotchin are also on course to make their 300th appearances in the to contest the first half of the season.

Franklin needs just 53 more goals to reach 1100 in his remarkable career, while Richmond’s Jack Riewoldt needs to score 45 more goals to reach 800 majors.

Meanwhile, new North Melbourne manager Alastair Clarkson will reach 400 games as manager against Sydney in Round 10.

Here are all the big milestones that are within reach next year.



341 games: Lance Franklin (Syd/Haw), to be reached in Round 9.

327: Travis Boak (Port Adel), planned round 24.

327: Tom Hawkins (Geel), scheduled lap 24.

326: Jack Riewoldt (Rich), scheduled finals week 1.


295: Todd Goldstein (North Melb), scheduled run 5.

289: Steele Sidebottom (C’wood), scheduled lap 11.

287: Trent Cotchin (Rich), scheduled round 13.


238: Luke Shuey (West Coast), scheduled round 12.

238: Taylor Walker (Adel), scheduled round 12.

233: Rory Sloane (Adel), scheduled round 18.

231: Brandon Ellis (Rich/Gold Coast), scheduled round 20.

230: Dayne Zorko (Bris Lions), scheduled round 21.

230: Cam Guthrie (Geel), scheduled lap 21.

229: Ben Cunnington (North Melb), scheduled run 22.

227: Mark Blicavs (Geel), scheduled lap 24.

225: Brodie Smith (Adel), scheduled finals week 2.

225: Jack Gunston (Adel/Haw/Bris Lions), scheduled finals week 2.


199: Dylan Shiel (GWS/Ess), scheduled lap 1.

197: David Swallow (Gold Coast), needs three games to become first Gold Coast player in history to play 200 games with the club, scheduled Round 3.

195: Tom Liberatore (W Bulldogs), scheduled round 5.

194: Robbie Tarrant (North Melb/Rich), scheduled round 6.

193: Marcus Bontempelli (W Bulldogs), scheduled round 7.

193: Steven May (Gold Coast/Melb), scheduled run 7.

192: Phil Davis (Adel/GWS), scheduled 8th heat.

192: Dion Prestia (Gold Coast/Rich), scheduled round 8.

191: Toby Greene (GWS) needs nine games to become the second GWS player to reach 200 games and follow in Callan Ward’s footsteps. Planned round 9.

190: Nick Vlastuin (Rich), scheduled lap 10.

189: Charlie Dixon (Gold Coast/Port Adel), scheduled run 11.

185: Michael Hibberd (Ess/Melb), scheduled run 16.

185: Lachie Whitfield (GWS), scheduled heat 16.

184: Zach Merrett (Ess), scheduled round 17.

183: Taylor Adams (GWS/C’wood), scheduled round 18.

183: Nick Haynes (GWS), scheduled heat 18.

183: Rhys Stanley (St. Kilda/Geel), scheduled run 18.

182: Elliot Yeo (Bris Lions/West Coast), scheduled round 19.

181: Max Gawn (Melb), scheduled run 20.

181: Will Hoskin-Elliott (GWS/C’wood), scheduled lap 20.

181: Jarryd Lyons (Adel/Gold Coast/Bris Lions), scheduled round 20.

181: Sam Reid (Syd), scheduled round 20.

181: Seb Ross (St Kilda), scheduled round 20.

177: Stephen Coniglio (GWS), scheduled heat 24.

177: Brodie Grundy (Melb/C’wood), scheduled lap 24.

177: Gary Rohan (Syd/Geel), scheduled run 24.

176: Charlie Cameron (Adel/Bris Lions) has scheduled the Week 1 Finals.

176: Jason Johannisen (W Bulldogs), scheduled finals week 1.

176: Josh Kelly (GWS), scheduled finals week 1.

175: Levi Casboult (Carlton/Gold Coast), scheduled finals week 2.

173: Lachie Hunter (W Bulldogs/Melb), planned finals week 4.


188: Jack Crisp (C’wood) needs 12 to become the fifth player to reach 200 straight games. The VFL-AFL longest game record is held by Jim Stynes ​​with 244 games.


1100 GOALS

1047 goals: Lance Franklin (Haw/Syd) needs 53 goals.

Note: Franklin needs 11 goals to overtake Doug Wade (1057) as the fourth-most career VFL-AFL goal.


755: Jack Riewoldt (Rich) needs 45 goals.

Note: Riewoldt needs 24 goals to overtake Kevin Bartlett (778) as Richmond’s third-best goalscorer in history behind Matthew Richardson (800) and Jack Titus (970). Riewoldt also needs five goals to become a third player to score 400 or more goals at the MCG.


732: Tom Hawkins (Geel) needs 18 goals.


536: Taylor Walker (Adel) needs 14 goals.

531: Jeremy Cameron (GWS/Geel) needs 19 goals.


484: Jack Darling (West Coast) needs 16 goals.

481: Luke Breust (Haw) needs 19 goals.

447: Tom Lynch (Gold Coast/Rich) needs 53 goals.



390: Alastair Clarkson (Haw/North Melb), scheduled run 10.


297: Damien Hardwick (Rich), scheduled lap 3.

286: Chris Scott (Geel), scheduled lap 15.

183: John Longmire (Syd), scheduled lap 18.

Note: Scott will overtake Reg Hickey (304) as Geelong’s coach with most games in 2023. Hardwick and Longmire are already Richmond and Sydney’s longest-serving coaches.



St Kilda will celebrate its 150th anniversary in 2023. The club was officially incorporated on April 2, 1873.


Geelong’s current 16-win streak is just seven shy of the VFL-AFL record set by the Cats in 1952-53. Undefeated in the first eight rounds of 2023, Geelong would eclipse their club record. Only four teams in VFL-AFL history have won 20 straight games.


The Round 1 clash between Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs is the 3000th VFL-AFL match to be played at the MCG.


Tom Hawkins (Geel) needs 15 wins to become the fifth player to have 250 or more wins in a career.


Scott Pendlebury (C’wood) needs just 342 more dismounts to overtake St Kilda legend Robert Harvey as the all-time leading dismount winner in VFL/AFL history since the 1965 game).

Originally released as AFL 2023: All the major milestones to be achieved this season AFL 2023: Jack Riewoldt, Lance Franklin, Scott Pendlebury, all the key milestones this season

Ryan Sederquist

InternetCloning is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button