2022 Kentucky Derby Horses: Trainers, Jockeys, Owners Competing in the Race


The 2022 Kentucky Derby, the 148th edition of the inaugural round of the Triple Crown, is scheduled to take place on Saturday, May 7 at 6:57 p.m. in Louisville, Kentucky at Churchill Downs.

In 2021, Medina Spirit, coached by Bob Baffert, won the Kentucky Derby but soon after tested positive for a banned substance, betamethasone. Medina Spirit was eventually stripped of the win and Mandaloun was later recognized as the official winner. Baffert was fined and suspended for Medina Spirit’s positive test.

The 2022 field features several favorites who certainly have a chance of winning. Epicenter is currently listed as the odds favorite at 5/1. Most recently, Epicenter won the Louisiana Derby in March and the three-year-old colt has taken four first places. Three-year-old colt Zandon sits just behind Epicenter at odds of 6/1, having previously won the $1 million Grade 1 Toyota Blue Grass in Kentucky. The last Blue Grass competitor to earn a berth in the Kentucky Derby was Street Sense in 2007.

Below are the horses scheduled to compete, along with their owner, trainer, and jockey.


  • Owner: Jeff Drown
  • Coach: Chad C Brown
  • Jockey: Flavien Prat


  • Owner: Winchell Thoroughbreds LLC
  • Coach: Steven M. Asmussen
  • Jockey: Joel Rosario


  • Owners: SF Racing LLC, Starlight Racing and Madaket Stables LLC
  • Trainer: Tim Yakteen
  • Jockey: John R. Velazquez

Mon Donegal

  • Owners: Donegal Racing and Repole Stable
  • Trainer: Todd A Pletcher
  • Jockey: Irad Ortiz Jr.

White Abarrio

  • Owners: C2 Racing Stable LLC and La Milagrosa Stable LLC
  • Coach: Saffie A. Joseph Jr.
  • Jockey: Tyler Gaffalione


  • Owner: Zedan Racing Stables Inc.
  • Trainer: Tim Yakteen
  • Jockey: Mike E Smith

smile happily

  • Owner: Lucky Seven Stable (Mackin)
  • Trainer: Kenneth G. McPeek
  • Jockey: Corey J. Lanerie

charge it up

  • Ownership: Whisper Hill Farm, LLC
  • Trainer: Todd A Pletcher
  • Jockey: Luis Saez

crown pride

  • Owner: Teruya Yoshida
  • Trainer: Koichi Shintani
  • Jockey: Christophe Lemaire


  • Owners: Butrow, Barry and Joni
  • Trainer: Brad H. Cox
  • Jockey: Manuel Franco


  • Owners: Bobo, Tami and DeMarc, Tristan
  • Trainer: Antonio Sano
  • Jockey: Jose L. Ortiz

cyber knife

  • Owner: Gold Square LLC
  • Trainer: Brad H. Cox
  • Jockey Florent Geroux

Happy Jack

  • Owner: Calumet Farm
  • Trainer: Doug F. O’Neill
  • Jockey: Rafael Bejarano

Summer is tomorrow

  • Owners: Hilary, Michael and Burke, Negar
  • Coach: Bhupat Seemar
  • Jockey: Mickael Barzalona

Tiz the bomb

  • Owner: Magdalena Racing, lessee
  • Trainer: Kenneth G. McPeek
  • Jockey: Brian Joseph Hernandez Jr.

Pioneer of Medina

  • Owner: Sumaya US Stable
  • Trainer: Todd A Pletcher
  • Jockey: Joe Bravo

barber street

  • Owner: WSS Racing, LLC
  • Trainer: John Alexander Ortiz
  • Jockey: Reylu Gutierrez

Classic dam

  • Owners: Kentucky West Racing LLC and Clarke M. Cooper
  • Coach: Brian A Lynch
  • Jockey: Julien R. Leparoux

Tawny port

  • Owner: Peachtree Stable
  • Trainer: Brad H. Cox
  • Jockey: Ricardo Santana Jr.

Ethereal Road

  • Owners: Gilbert, Julie and Sones, Aaron
  • Trainer: D. Wayne Luke
  • Jockey: Luis Contreras 2022 Kentucky Derby Horses: Trainers, Jockeys, Owners Competing in the Race

Justin Scacco

InternetCloning is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button